Feeling Anxious?

Fun fact about me: I suffer from extreme anxiety. Anxiety is a serious issue I struggle to deal with daily and it’s something I really wanted to write about. I’m not going to make an article on “how to get rid of anxiety” because honestly, you really can’t get rid of it. And if you can, please tell me how. Sure you can take pills, but is that really safe? Pills might be effective, but it really isn’t a cure. The relief is only temporary, and the medication comes with dangerous side effects. These pills are addictive and can cause extreme fatigue which basically allows you to sleep away the pain. Anxiety medications can also cause impaired thinking and judgment, memory loss, nausea, and even depression.

Now these medications aren’t always bad. For some people, it works wonders! Not everyone will experience side effects, but you should keep in mind before taking any medications what may occur.

So, anxiety.

There are six types of anxiety. These are

  1. Panic Disorder and Agoraphobia
    1. In a nutshell, this is when you are afraid of having panic attacks. You might avoid going out places because of the fear you may have a panic attack.
  2. Social Anxiety
    1. Social anxiety is just as it sounds. You’re afraid of socializing and meeting new people. You’re afraid of human interaction. This might make it difficult to have a job or to make friends because you are afraid of how others will view you. Avoiding social situations will ultimately default in loneliness.
  3. Specific Phobia
    1. This is a fear of a specific object, or activity. For example, it could be a fear of dogs or a fear of water. If you have a phobia, you do your best to avoid whatever it is you fear.
  4. Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD)
    1. If you have OCD, you may experience a lot of upsetting thoughts that are so persistent that you might fear they will never stop. This results in compulsions, where you try to stop these thoughts with a lot of effort, but the compulsions only become worse.
  5. Generalized Anxiety Disorder
    1. This is when you consistently worry about any bad things that could happen. You think about the worst that can happen if any situation and fear it, causing you to avoid most situations. This could cause you to have a meltdown before a major event or whenever you have to do something that brings you stress.
  6. Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
    1. This occurs if you have experienced a life threatening event, like a car crash. The thoughts remain with you and have had a serious effect on your everyday life.

These are just the six types with a brief description. If you would like me to go more in depth about any of these, please let me know.

Personally, I struggle with Generalized Anxiety Disorder and Social Anxiety.

Like I said before, there really is no cure. But there are ways to cope and to get rid of your anxiety for moments at a time.

I’ve done a lot of research to find the cure to anxiety and a lot of the time I find tips telling me to try not to think about whatever is giving me anxiety.

Well, that is easier said than done.

The more I try not to think about it, the more I actually end up thinking about it. So what do I do? The best way to try and momentarily forget about the anxiety is to find something to distract you. This could still be difficult because it could be hard to focus on activities like reading a book or watching a movie, when all you can think about is whatever you’re anxious about. But I guarantee there is an activity that will distract you. Call a friend, or exercise. Find what works for you.

Try doing yoga. It’s a nice form of exercise that also helps you relax a little. You can also meditate! Dedicate all of your focus on your breath. Sit on a nice comfortable pillow, cross your legs, and close your eyes. Breathe in and count to five. Hold for three seconds. Breathe out for seven seconds.

Be positive. Instead of thinking of what could go wrong, think about what could go right. Again, easier said than done, but with some practice it’s totally manageable.

Why are you anxious? What is it that’s making you feel this way? Is it really likely that any bad things will happen? A lot of the time, we worry for no reason. Don’t let anxiety control your life. If you are asked to go out and do something fun or different, always say yes. (Unless it’s drugs, haha). You might have a bad time, but you might also have the best time of your life. If you keep facing your fears, you’ll eventually get over them.

There will always be something out there that makes you nervous, and that’s okay. Anxiety doesn’t just magically go away, and it may never even go away completely. I do my best to not let anxiety rule my life, and it’s tough. Sometimes I just want to sit at home with my dog and watch Netflix, but I do my best to fight it and to try new things.

Anxiety is something I take very seriously because I don’t think people understand how serious of an issue it is. I often get told that my feelings are totally normal and that everyone feels anxious sometimes. That doesn’t change the fact that I don’t like how I’m feeling, whether it’s normal or not. Anxiety can really affect your life and there is only so much that can be done about it. Really, my best advice is to just do whatever it is that helps you relax and take it day by day. Work up the courage to do something today that you couldn’t do yesterday. And don’t be afraid to talk to people.

Basically I’m writing this advice, not only for you, but myself too.

We’ll both get there, eventually.

Citation: http://www.anxietycoach.com/anxietydisorders.html

Leave a Reply

