Glee Season 6- Recap and Opinions

Last night was the final season premiere for Fox’s hit television show Glee. As someone who’s been watching the show from the very beginning, this brought in some mixed emotions. On one hand, I’m bummed that this show that was once my obsession is ending, but on another, it’s definitely time for the show to end. The first three seasons were incredible and I couldn’t help but get addicted. I loved the original cast and the old, self-absorbed Rachel Berry. Then season four came along, bringing along the new glee club and tossing away the old and I wasn’t as interested. Still, a few of my favorite characters still remained like Rachel, Finn, Kurt, Sam, and a couple others. Not to mention, I really started to love the new characters like Jake, Marley, Ryder, and Kitty! Still, it was undeniable that the show just wasn’t as good as it used to be. Then season 5 came along, and at that point I felt like watching was more of an obligation than something I want to do. Now it’s season 6 and here are my thoughts on the premiere. Warning: spoilers!

Rachel Berry is back to where she started. She’s at the glee club in Lima, Ohio. I like the fact that the final season will be taking place back to where it started. I wasn’t a fan when they completely cut off the glee club storyline mid season five. But anyways, Rachel’s TV show, That So Rachel, I thought was really funny. The characters on the show were based off of the characters on Glee. Unfortunately, Rachel’s show tanked, ruining her image. Although we all root for Rachel Berry, I’m glad she’s back in her hometown because I’m sure the season will end with her back on Broadway, where she belongs.

Now I would like to take a minute to appreciate Lea Michele’s voice because my God, her vocals never fail to amaze me. “Uninvited” by Alanis Morissette is what the show opened with and she killed it. Another song I really liked was “Suddenly Seymour”, a duet between Rachel and Blaine. I definitely think that’s a challenging song to cover, but they did it justice. But ugh. Blaine, Blaine, Blaine.

Blaine and Kurt broke up, once again. Honestly at this point I don’t even care. They have broken up and gotten back together way too many times and I thought they were finally done with that. Then when I found out they broke off their engagement, maybe that’s just it for them. But obviously, it’s not. Kurt is still very much in love with Blaine, but Blaine has moved on… to Karofsky. I never saw that one coming and I’m not quite sure how I feel about it. I mean, Karofsky? It was a great idea on the writer’s part, such a huge plot twist. But we all know that Blaine and Karofsky could never work out. But can Kurt and Blaine?

Rachel successfully brings back the glee club despite Sue Sylvestor’s vigorous attempts to get rid of it for good. Of course she had thought she succeeded, but the glee club will never die! The old glee club returned in this episode which made me very happy. Quinn, Brittany, and Santana performed “Problem” by Ariana Grande and Iggy Azalea and it was probably my favorite performance of the night. I absolutely love the Unholy Trinity! Their performance helped recruit two newbies for the Glee club, but I’ll get into that later.

Kitty Wilde, one of the newbies from season four, appeared in this episode and informed us that Sue made all of the glee members transfer. This made me really upset. It took time for the new members to grow on me, and once they finally did, they’re all gone? These members were taken out of the glee club (and show) without any sort of fight or anything. Their storylines were never even completed!! Did Jake and Marley every work things out? What about Ryder and Unique? I really liked these characters and now they’re just gone and they’re forming a whole new glee club, for a third time! The members recruited so far are super talented, but I don’t want to have to get to know all of these new characters for only one season! Instead I’d rather the old members come back and finish their storylines. Is that too much to ask?

However, I don’t know for a fact that they won’t be returning so for now I’m just going to keep my fingers crossed. At the very least, I hope Kitty rejoins the glee club and becomes a regular cast member again. I also hope that more of the older cast members stay on as regulars. Especially Puck and Quinn. They’re my faves.

So although I’m not a fan of completely rebuilding the glee club, the members they have so far are pretty damn good. I really like Roderick because he fits the whole “unique” perspective that makes up Glee. He auditioned with the song “Mustang Sally” and he’s undeniably amazing. Jane is another newbie who is bringing a lot of drama to the show between the Warblers, and New Directions, but also Blaine, Kurt, and Rachel.

Spencer is the gay football player who is being bribed by Sue to spy on the glee club. Hm, some things never change. The final two members are Mason and Madison. Two super preppy cheerleaders who remind me a little bit of Sharpay and Ryan from High School Musical.

That’s basically it for the premiere. Hopefully next week we’ll see a little bit more of Mr. Schue’s adorable baby!! And maybe even Emma? One thing I know for sure- we get a Brittana proposal next week! Can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

