2016

2016 New Year

I can’t believe it’s 2016. I have to say, 2015 was full of ups and downs. 2015 began my second semester of my senior year of high school and it started off AMAZING! Everything was going well for me- my grades were good, I had gotten accepted into a great school,  everything was great. Then after my senior prom, I made a few mistakes and hit a major rough patch. BUT soon I started college, and college has treated me so well (other then the terrible allergies I’ve been having along with awful breakouts.) I have made awesome friends, have a sense of what I want to do with my life, have been working on being healthier, and overall have been a lot more positive and happy. 2015 has been a pretty decent year and I’m excited to see what 2016 holds.

Over the summer, my friend bought me a book to begin in college. It is called Q&A a Day. Basically, it is a five year journal that asks a question each day. The first question for January 1st is “What’s your mission?” I found this question very fitting for the start of the book.

I guess my own personal mission is to be brave. I’ve always been shy and soft spoken and I’ve always aspired to be a bit bolder. Despite my shyness, I’ve never been afraid to speak my mind. I want the courage to be able to go out and socialize and try something new and to not be afraid to fall in love with something different. I want the courage to be able to cut those who are toxic in my life out of it even though I may care a lot about them. I want the courage to work a little bit harder towards my dream and towards a successful future.

Today, someone very close to me told me I have no future. They told me that I may be happy now in college, as this is the easiest time in my life, but in the future I will graduate and move back home and struggle finding any sort of career and that my life will not be what I hope it will be. It’s this kind of negativity I want to rid my life of in 2016.

I want the courage to prove this person, and anyone whom has ever doubted me, wrong.

My resolution for 2016: don’t let the others of negativity ruin my confidence. Allow my bravery and my abilities to prove them wrong because even if they don’t know it, know I’m capable of creating something great.

4 thoughts on “2016

  1. Hey, I like your blog. Great post! I hope you stick to your resolutions and your year turns out great. I was actually looking at one of those Q&A a day journals today and I was going to order one. Is it worth a purchase? 😀

    1. Thanks so much, that means a lot! But yes I absolutely think so! The questions are pretty simple and don’t require a long response so it’s very easy to keep up with. Definitely worth the purchase!

  2. Thanks for sharing Ruby, and best of luck with your resolutions! Don’t let anyone else stop you achieving what you want to achieve.

    I had a lot of doubts from people when I first set up my blog and online business a few years ago, but I persisted and have been able to achieve what I set out to and more 🙂 If I can do it so can you!

    If you were maybe looking for a few ideas related to sticking to your resolutions – I recently put out an article on the Fifty Golden Rules of Forming Healthy Habits.

    Feel free to check it out – would love to hear your thoughts on it!

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

