Review: Lush Dark Angels

Unknown-1

Growing up, I was always blessed with flawless skin. Still, I’ve always taken an interest in my skincare routine. I also took an extreme interest in Lush because I think it’s amazing that the products are all natural. One day at Lush, a woman convinced me to purchase their face wash called Dark Angels. I have heard reviews on this face wash and people claim it’sΒ amazing and has formed miracles when it comes to clearing up acne. I’ve never really had acne, but I figured I’d try out the face wash anyways because this lady just recommended to me and it looked pretty cool.

After a week of using this face wash, I noticed my once acne free skin begin to break out a little bit in my t-zone. I didn’t think it was that big of a deal because that’s a common thing with face wash. When beginning a new routine, your skin will most likely adjust by breaking out or purging. I thought I was just going through a minor purging stage.

A few more weeks went by, it hasn’t cleared up yet. A few months go by, and it’s getting worse. My t-zone has become extremely bumpy and I’ve started to break out on my chin and cheeks. Finally, I gave up on this face wash and went to the dermatologist.

Ever since the face wash, my skin has not been the same. I’m on several medications now for my acne. I don’t know if this face wash is all to blame or if at the same time I suddenly started to have hormonal acne, but I truly believe this face wash has played a part.

I researched the face wash more and while most reviews rave about how this face wash cleared acne, I read a few stories similar to mine about people whom had clear skin until using this product. I also read that one of the issues may have been that this face wash is a bit intense and may not be for everyone. It’s a deep scrub which can cause skin dehydration, leading to breakouts. This face wash can strip your skin from its natural oils and could also cause bacterial infection (which is what happened to me).

While their are great reviews on this face wash, it unfortunately wasn’t for me. Life lesson: Always research a face wash before you buy it.

4 thoughts on “Review: Lush Dark Angels

  1. I’m so sorry to hear how that mask affected your skin. I had a similar experience and it took me years to clear the scars.. and am still trying to find a solution to acne. Thank you for the review! Saved me from buying it. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m not a fan of their face products but I love their Intergalactic bathbomb πŸ‘Œ Have you tried it? I also had Lush haul recently. You might want to check it out 😊

Leave a Reply

