Dance Marathon 2k16

Okay so I have to write about one of the most life changing events I have ever been involved in: Dance Marathon.

This year I was given the opportunity to participate in Dance Marathon at Rutgers University with the sorority I am pledging, Zeta Tau Alpha. So much time and energy was put into this, but it truly was so worth it. The feeling I had after was so rewarding, and I feel so blessed to have been involved in something so amazing.

IMG_3983

I danced for 12 hours, from 6pm-6am. It was exhausting, but at the same time, so much fun!

IMG_4003

The  night was long, but there was never a dull moment. Our teams participated in fun activities such as tug-of-war, sack racing, and so much more (shoutout white team!) Every hour there was something new to do. Throughout the night we learned a line dance to a mashup of current hit songs. One hour was 90’s hour where they played all 90’s songs and played 90’s trivia. There was also, my personal favorite, rave hour.

IMG_3977

It was so amazing being able to dance and support such a wonderful cause with all of my best friends while having all of my other friends come visit and support me.

IMG_3987

Rozes also made an appearance and sang some songs, and I even got to get a picture with her! It was so awesome!

IMG_3995

It was such a life changing experience and I have to say to all those in college, you MUST participate in Dance Marathon at least once in your life. It’s such an amazing opportunity and I can promise you won’t regret it.

IMG_4002

Seeing all of the kids we’re helping made the whole experience so worth it. Getting the opportunity to dance with these kids and see how happy this made them was the most heart-warming feeling in the world. This is an experience that I will remember forever and I’m so grateful to have gotten to participate in something so incredible. Can you believe we raised $912,143.47?!! If you would like to see the Rutgers Dance Marathon 2k16 video, I have linked it below!

https://www.facebook.com/RUDanceMarathon/?pnref=story

Leave a Reply

