Self Tan Reviews

During the summer season, I am blessed to be a person with skin that tans very nicely. I don’t burn or flake, instead I develop a dark, healthy glow. Personally, I feel much more confident with my summer tan and mourn the loss of color in the winter. While pale skin is beautiful and I don’t necessarily dislike my fair skin, I prefer a tan. I have tested out different sunless tanners over the years in order to maintain my summer glow in the winter, but of course faux glow can be quite tricky. Many self-tanners turn my fair skin orange or come out far too splotchy. Of course with enough practice and experimenting, I have found the perfect self-tanning routine (that I’d be more than happy to write, let me know if you’re interested) and have found the good and bad self- tanners. Here are reviews of some of the self-tanners I have tried.

Jergens Natural Glow

A very poplar self-tan option is Jergens Natural Glow. I am a fan of this self-tanner, although it does have its issues. Just to clarify, I use the lotion and I have used both the face and body lotion. I think this self-tanner is great for people with fair skin. The lotion is meant to be for daily use and the tan is gradual. If you’re using a mitt and blending properly, it will probably take you about three days until you see results. I think a nice, dark tan is very possible to achieve from this lotion and that is why I am a fan. However, I have a serious problem with splotchiness. My tan looks great for the first two days then it starts to get splotchy. It starts applying unevenly and just straight up flaking off. Then I have to exfoliate completely and start fresh and the cycle begins again. It’s pretty annoying, but still, I do enjoy the color pay off. The splotchiness is especially an issue on my face. The color does not apply evenly on my face at all. Another issue I have with this self-tanner is the smell. Because it’s a daily moisturizer, I feel like I always smell like DHA because I shower, and then immediately have to reapply it! The smell is not at all pleasant.

Rate: 6

Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion

This self-tanner has wonderful reviews and I was extremely excited to try it out. However, it did not at all work for me. I’ve read many reviews about the color of this self-tanner being very subtle, but when I used it, I completely turned orange. I remember going to school after using this self-tanner and receiving a ton of comments asking if I got a spray tan because I looked like a carrot. I was mortified. Along with this, the color streaked. Oh, and the smell is HORRENDOUS! I did not like this self-tanner one bit and am very surprised it’s such a popular choice.

Rate: 3

Neutrogena Micro-Mist Airbrush Sunless Tan

Unlike the Clinique Self Sun Body Tinted Lotion, I have read terrible reviews about this spray. Oddly enough, I don’t hate it. I mean, if anything I really didn’t notice much of a color pay off which was disappointing. But for me, that’s better than turning orange. The smell wasn’t bad either. I’ve definitely smelled a lot worse, and I found the fumes to be very subtle.

Rate: 4

Tanceuticals CC Self Tanning Body Lotion, Dark

Tanceuticals creates very nice self-tanners. I actually use both the face and body lotion in the darkest shade. I am a fan of this self-tanner because it doesn’t cause breakouts or anything which is very important to me since I have acne prone skin. I use the shade dark, but the color it gives me is definitely not dark which makes me wonder how the light shade works. I am very fair skinned and even with the dark shade, the color pay off is only subtle. The smell of this self-tanner is also quite nice. I actually really like the smell. It doesn’t smell like DHA at all. It actually smells like coconut. I am a huge fan of the smell. My least favorite part about this self-tanner is probably how runny it is. Still, this self-tanner is very high quality and does not streak as bad as others or smell which is extremely important to me. I would recommend this self-tanner

Rate: 8

I’m still on the hunt for the perfect self-tanner. As of right now, Tanceuticals is definitely my go-to self-tanner. If you have any self-tan recommendations, please let me know!

4 thoughts on “Self Tan Reviews

  1. Have your tried Eco Tan? I am loving the Winter Skin and Invisible Tan. I’m fair skinned and I love that it has a natural look that you can build. Thank you for the reviews of the other brands too! :o)

Leave a Reply

