A Week Without Washing My Hair

Whenever I tell people I wash my hair every day, I always get a lot of reactions like “you’re not supposed to do that” or “that’s really bad for your hair.” I know, I know, hair is apparently not supposed to be washed everyday that way it can produce its own natural oils. But I can’t help it. My hair gets greasy. And every time I say this, I get the response “that’s only because your hair is used to being washed daily.” Yeah, yeah, whatever. I can’t help it. I can’t stand the grease to be able to withhold from washing my hair long enough that this doesn’t happen. But this week, I challenged myself. I challenged myself to go a full week without washing my hair. I got to try out some new and fun hairstyles with this little experiment, but besides that, let’s see how it worked out for me.

Sunday

IMG_8564

I washed my hair Saturday night, leaving my hair fresh and clean for Sunday. Unfortunately, I made the poor decision to go to the beach today which afterwards, left my hair salty and knotty. Overall, I’m off to a rough start.

Monday

IMG_8518.JPG

If I could go back, I would have straightened my hair from the jump. Still, my hair actually came out pretty well despite the second day after a windy beach day. My hair remained sleek and surprisingly, not greasy.

Tuesday

IMG_8542.JPG

By Tuesday my hair was starting to feel slightly greasy. I dabbed at my roots with some Witch Hazel in hopes to dry it out and pulled my straightened locks into a half-up/half-down pony. Surprisingly, I didn’t need to touch up my hair with a straightening iron at all, as my straight hair had mostly stayed in tact.

Wednesday

IMG_8531.JPG

I knew putting my hair down this late into the week was a risky move, but I went with it. No regrets quite yet either, after curling my hair, my hair had lots of texture and volume that I quite liked.

Thursday

IMG_8529.JPG

Thursday I regretted my choice to wear my hair down because I woke up with extremely ready hair. Again, I dabbed at my roots with some Witch Hazel, and put my hair up into another half-up/half-down pony. This time, I touched up my curls and although a bit frizzy, I thought my hair looked cute and fun.

Friday

IMG_8551.JPG

It is a rare occasion that I wear my hair up, but the grease began to get out of hand and to be too much for even Witch Hazel to fix, so I opted for a pony. I found the ponytail to be great for unwashed hair because my hair didn’t look, nor feel greasy. It stayed out of my face and I don’t think my hair looked all that bad.

Saturday

IMG_8563.JPG

Sorry for the shade over my face, but by Saturday I was completely over this. My hair felt disgusting and I was left with no choice but to throw it in a bun because it looked terrible. Saturday after work, I went home and washed my hair, and it was the best I felt in a week.

 

After taking this challenge, I decided I will never go a week without washing my hair again. However, I realized that I do not have to wash my hair everyday. Now, I wash my hair every other day. I have to admit, I notice no difference between the health of my hair, but I do save time and money so I guess that’s a plus!

2 thoughts on “A Week Without Washing My Hair

Leave a Reply

